L’histoire du soldat

I recently attended a recital where I heard a piece that was completely new to me – a few movements from the concert suite L’histoire du soldat by Igor Stravinsky. The suite is scored for piano, clarinet, and violin, but the original work was written for chamber ensemble, three actors (who speak but do not sing), and a dancer. It tells the Faust-like story of a soldier who trades his violin to the devil in exchange for material wealth. The first two movements of the suite picture the soldier marching down the road towards his hometown and pausing to strike up a tune on his fiddle just before the devil comes upon him.

Enjoy listening here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s